The main parts of a volcano are the crater, chimney, volcanic cone, secondary cone, magma chamber, main vent, sedimentary rocks, fumaroles and eruptive column. Magma - Molten rock beneath Earth's surface. Volcanoes are geological formations that represent a rupture in the earth's crust that allows the expulsion of components that are below the ground, such as magma and gases. Sill - A flat piece of rock formed when magma hardens in a crack in a volcano. When rocks become so hot, they can become a substance called magma. Do you want to learn the anatomy of a volcano? It collects in magma chambers on average 1 … 9 Parts of a volcano from the inside. Let’s dive right in. Let's explore the different parts of a volcano and how they function. This is the part of the volcano located deepest underground, even beneath the Earth's crust. Magma Chamber and Main Vent Way below the surface of the Earth, which is called the crust, is where volcanic activity begins. Magma chamber. The image below shows the different parts of a volcano. From the depths of the lithosphere to the Earth's crust, these are the parts of a volcano according to science: 1. Parasitic Cone - A small cone-shaped volcano formed by an accumulation of volcanic debris. Definitions. 1 Magma. The width of the magma chamber ranges from just a few kilometers up to dozens wide (they've documented some with more than a 70-kilometer radius). From tephra to volcanic bombs: It’s time to explore the 13 parts of a volcano.